The USGenWeb Census Project 1930 Federal Census Team Transcription

If you are interested in helping to transcribe an Enumeration District for this census,
please fill-in and submit a "Transcriber Volunteer Form"

The 1930 census has Soundex Cards for only 12 of the states and there is no national index. It will take researchers a long time to find the name they are looking for without an index or Soundex Card to let them know what page number they need. Because of this, the Census Project is initiating a brief transcription of selected 1930 columns.  These initial incomplete transcriptions are only temporary files to get the pertinent information made available sooner.  Later we intend to go back and fill in the remaining columns to make full-transcriptions since that is the Census Project's ultimate goal.

The 1930 Selected Columns will include the following fields:

Please refer to the 1930 Transcriber's Help web pages for more information.

Cherokee County, Iowa - - 1930 Federal Census Team Transcription
Microfilm #T626-647
Enumeration County Description  Transcriber  Proofreader
18-1 Afton Twp.    
18-2 Amherst Twp.    
18-3 Larrabee Town    
18-4 Cedar Twp. excluding Larrabee Town    
18-5 Cherokee City, Ward 1, bounded by (N) City Limits; (E) Railroad Tracks; (S) City Limits; (W) City Limits.
Institution(s): Cherokee Co. Jail; Mt. St. Mary's Academy
18-6 Institution(s): Cherokee State Hospital for Insane    
18-7 Cherokee City, Ward 2, bounded by (N) E. Willow, E. Willow Extended; (E) City Limits; (S) City Limits; (W) Railroad Tracks.
Institution(s): Cherokee City Jail
18-8 Cherokee City, Ward 3, bounded by (N) Wilson Ave. Extended, Wilson Ave., Wilson Ave. Extended; (E) City Limits; (S) E. Willow Extended, E. Willow; (W) Railroad Tracks.
Institution(s): Hospital; Seaman's Sanitarium; Sioux Valley Hospital
18-9 Cherokee Twp. excluding Cherokee City
Institution(s): Cherokee Co. Home
18-10 Diamond Twp.    
18-11 Grand Meadow Twp.    
18-12 Liberty Twp.    
18-13 Marcus Town
Institution(s): Holy Name Convent
18-14 Marcus Twp. excluding Marcus Town    
18-15 Pilot Twp.    
18-16 Aurelia Town    
18-17 Pitcher Twp. excluding Aurelia Town    
18-18 Rock Twp.    
18-19 Cleghorn Town    
18-20 Meriden Town    
18-21 Sheridan Twp. excluding Cleghorn and Meriden Towns
Institution(s): Mary Hill Catholic Convent
18-22 Silver Twp.    
18-23 Spring Twp.    
18-24 Tilden Twp.    
18-25 Quimby Town    
18-26 Washta Town    
18-27 Willow Twp. excluding Quimby and Washta Towns    

The USGenWeb Census Project

The USGenWeb Census Project